UDIA NSW welcomes the new leadership team announced today by NSW Premier Dominic Perrottet

We are city-shapers.

Media Archive / UDIA NSW welcomes the new leadership team announced today by NSW Premier Dominic Perrottet

UDIA NSW welcomes the new leadership team announced today by NSW Premier Dominic Perrottet

UDIA NSW wishes all members of the new Cabinet the best in their new roles and looks forward to working closely with them throughout 2022 with the development and construction industry being a key contributor to the success of the NSW economy.

The new Cabinet includes nine who are first time Ministers:

  • Sam Farraway (Regional Transport and Roads)
  • James Griffin (Environment and Heritage),
  • Eleni Petinos as Minister for Small Business and Minister for Fair Trading),
  • Wendy Tuckerman (Local Government),
  • Steph Cooke (Emergency Services and Resilience)
  • Natasha Maclaren-Jones (Families and Communities; and Disability Services)
  • Mark Coure (Seniors and Multiculturalism),
  • Dugald Saunders (Agriculture and Western NSW),
  • Ben Franklin (Aboriginal Affairs, Arts and Regional Youth)

We also welcome key Ministers with new leadership responsibilities impacting the development industry:

  • Anthony Roberts (Planning and Homes)
  • David Elliott (Transport)
  • Rob Stokes (Infrastructure, Cities and Active Transport)
  • Kevin Anderson (Lands and Water)

As the state’s leading development industry body, representing more than 500 member companies and agencies across the public and private sector, the Urban Development Institute of Australia (UDIA) NSW has a strong policy and advocacy focus, particularly on key areas impacting the housing Supply and affordability crisis in NSW.

Throughout 2021, UDIA NSW has delivered a number of significant research reports working with our members across the Sydney Megaregion – from the Hunter to the Illawarra which represents 90% of NSW new housing supply and we have identified specific projects and investment needed to improve housing supply.  Link to our research reports can be found on UDIA NSW Website https://www.udiansw.com.au/about-our-research-program/research-publications/

UDIA calls on the new team to focus on the following key issues:

  • Tackling the shortfall of 25,000 new housing lots by the end of the decade, by:
    • Investing in specific enabling infrastructure as outlined across the Sydney Megaregion;
    • Unlocking $3b of unspent local contributions by providing incentives to Council’s; and
    •  Publish a plan for completing rezonings.
  • Fixing the Biodiversity Offset System which is the biggest roadblock to housing supply in the regions and is not delivering for conservation.
  • Removing supply roadblocks and rebuilding confidence in the Apartments market.
  • Ensuring that the planning and regulatory reforms currently taking place do not make the housing supply and affordability crisis worse in NSW, by increasing costs and reducing feasibility.

“Working together we can deliver solutions to the housing supply and affordability crisis and we can build a stronger future for our communities,” said Steve Mann, CEO, UDIA NSW.

Full NSW cabinet list can be found below:

Liberal MP Dominic Perrottet
Nationals MP Paul Toole
Deputy Premier
Minister for Regional New South Wales
Minister for Police
Liberal MP Stuart Ayres
Minister for Enterprise, Investment and Trade
Minister for Tourism and Sport
Minister for Western Sydney
Nationals MLC (Member of the Legislative Council) Bronnie Taylor
Minister for Women
Minister for Regional Health
Minister for Mental Health
Liberal MP Matt Kean
Minister for Energy
Liberal MLC Damien Tudehope
Minister for Finance
Minister for Employee Relations
Vice-President of the Executive Council
Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council
Liberal MP Alister Henskens
Minister for Skills and Training
Minister for Science, Innovation and Technology
Leader of the House in the Legislative Assembly
Liberal MP Brad Hazzard
Minister for Health
Nationals MLC Sarah Mitchell
Minister for Education and Early Learning
Liberal MP Mark Speakman
Attorney General
Liberal MP Rob Stokes
Minister for Infrastructure
Minister for Cities
Minister for Active Transport
Liberal MP Victor Dominello
Minister for Customer Service and Digital Government
Liberal MP Anthony Roberts
Minister for Planning
Minister for Homes
Liberal MP David Elliott
Minister for Transport
Minister for Veterans
Liberal MLC Natalie Ward
Minister for Metropolitan Roads
Minister for Women’s Safety and the Prevention of Domestic and Sexual Violence
Nationals MP Kevin Anderson MP
Minister for Lands and Water
Minister for Hospitality and Racing
Liberal MP Dr Geoff Lee
Minister for Corrections
Liberal MLC Natasha Maclaren-Jones
Minister for Families and Communities
Minister for Disability Services
Nationals MLC Sam Farraway
Minister for Regional Transport and Roads
Nationals MP Steph Cooke
Minister for Emergency Services and Resilience
Liberal MP Eleni Petinos
Minister for Small Business
Minister for Fair Trading
Liberal MP James Griffin
Minister for Environment and Heritage
Liberal MP Mark Coure
Minister for Seniors
Minister for Multiculturalism
Nationals MP Dugald Saunders
Minister for Agriculture
Minister for Western New South Wales
Nationals MLC Ben Franklin MLC
Minister for Aboriginal Affairs
Minister for the Arts
Minister for Regional Youth
Liberal MP Wendy Tuckerman
Minister for Local Government


Media Enquiries:
Deanna Lane 0416 295 898 or dlane@udiansw.com.au.