Committees / Resilience, Net Zero and Smart Cities Committee

The Resilience, Net Zero and Smart Cities Committee recognises the importance of the smart city agenda in the longevity of city planning. All levels of government have embraced ‘smart’ and ‘sustainable’ principles in various dimensions. The committee aims to take a leadership and innovation role in the promotion of excellence and best practice in smart cities and sustainable urban development outcomes, seeing how it can be applied to the NSW context.

Alistair Coulstock, Mott MacDonald (Chair)

Nathaniel Bavinton, Urbis (Vice Chair)

Ben Nickell, Mirvac

Marc Kefford, Arcadis

Cristina Nugpo, Arcadis & L&L Alumni

Matt Hyatt, BINGO Industries

Anil Sharma, BluescopeSteel

Lauren Smith, Clayton Utz

Jose Rodriguez, Colliers International Engineering & Design (NSW) Pty Ltd

Angelo Di Marco, Cottee Parker Architects

Jude Wild, Endeavour Energy

Kieron McIlvin, Essence Project Management

Kirsty Hetherington, Ethos Urban

Edward Ottery, Frasers Property Australia

Paul Himberger, Landcom

Matthew Paduch, Lendlease

Ben Maddox, Maitland City Council 

Jan van der Bergh, Mulpha

Mohan Lakshman, NBN Co

Andy Tybell, Opticomm

Adam Wilkinson, Penrith City Council

Sophie Quinn, SMEC

Rafal Piwonski, Stantec

Daniel Cope, The APP Group

Key Policy Issues

Key Agenda Items

  1. Championing innovation and new thinking around the smart, sustainable growth of our cities and regions.
  2. Explore emerging solutions and strategies in both urban infill and greenfield development.
  3. Deliberating the ways that sustainability controls can be realistically incorporated into urban development – exploring how to remove time and cost delays while producing net social benefits and understanding customer behaviours.