Officially established in 1963, UDIA NSW has grown to become the leading industry body representing the interests of the NSW property development sector. UDIA NSW aims to secure the viability and sustainability of the urban development industry for the benefit of our members and the communities they create. We represent the leading participants in the industry and have more than 500 members across the entire spectrum of the industry including developers, financiers, builders, suppliers, architects, contractors, engineers, consultants, academics and state and local government bodies. A quarter of these members are based in regional NSW.

Fifty years of commitment to the property development industry has provided us with the experience to build solid policy platforms that we advocate to key decision makers and leading opinion shapers.

UDIA NSW is driven by its members. Our president, council, chapters, committees, and staff ensure that we give members maximum value for their investment. Membership provides a unique opportunity to expand business networks, develop essential links to key industry stakeholders and decision makers, stay abreast of current industry issues, and truly influence the future direction of NSW’s urban development industry.

UDIA NSW members are represented by an elected Council of 13 leading industry practitioners who are responsible for the strategic direction of the Institute. UDIA NSW also has an extensive committee and regional chapter structure that involves more than 300 of the development industry’s key stakeholders in policy formulation.


  • Promote high standards for the urban development industry.
  • Connect key industry leaders and organisations to foster growth through networks.
  • Drive policy initiatives that contribute to a growing industry.
  • Promote the principles of responsible development, better planning, efficient land utilisation and sustainability of resources for future generations.
  • Foster a continuing education and research program to support the industry and benefit others associated with urban development.
  • Promote greater understanding in the community on the role and achievements of the urban development industry.


Articles of Association
Memorandum of Association



Neil Bird AM Herb Shields AM
Roger Collins-Woolcock Allen Vogan
Geoff Davey Bob Welsh AO
Julie Deane Angus Dawson
Peter Lowry OAM Ralph Bruce
Ralph Lucas OAM Sean O'Toole
Laurie Rose AM William Kirkby-Jones AM
Michael Scott Tony Perich AM
Laurie Kresner Terry Goldacre
Bruce McDonald AM Bob Winnel
Roy Sheargold David Gray



1963-1964   Bruce McDonald 1992-1993    Richard Wright 
1964-1966   Robert Ryko 1993-1995    Michael Scott
1966-1968   Glynn Brown 1995-1997    Terry Goldacre 
1968-1969   J R Charody 1998-2000     Angus Dawson
1969-1974   Allen Vogan 2000-2002     Bain Donovan
1974-1975   Bruce McDonald 2002-2004     Roger Collins-Woolcock
1976-1978   Robert Welsh 2004-2006     Ralph Bruce
1978-1980   Geoffrey Davey 2006-2008     Ross Blancato
1980-1982   Robert Welsh 2008-2010     Judy McKittrick
1982-1984   Ralph Lucas OAM 2010-2012     Michael Corcoran
1984-1987   Herb Shields AM 2012-2014     Simon Basheer
1987-1989   Neil Bird AM  2014-2016     Martin Wells
1989-1992   Laurie Rose AM  2016-2018     Arthur Ilias
  Current          Michael Sheargold